Saturday, July 4, 2009

What is test automation life cycle?

The Automated Test Life-cycle Methodology (ATLM) comprises six primary processes or components:

Decision to Automate Testing
The decision to automate testing represents the first phase of the ATLM. This phase covers the entire process that goes into the automated testing decision.
You have to think of Overcoming False Expectations for Automated Testing, Benefits of Automated Testing etc.

Test Tool Acquisition
Test tool acquisition represents the second phase of the ATLM. This phase guides the test engineer through the entire test tool evaluation and selection process, starting with confirmation of management support.

Automated Testing Introduction Process
The process of introducing automated testing to a new project team constitutes the third phase of the ATLM. This phase outlines the steps necessary to successfully introduce automated testing to a new project.

Test Planning, Design, and Development
Test planning, design, and development is the fourth phase of the ATLM.

Execution and Management of Tests
At this stage, the test team has addressed test design and test development. Test procedures are now ready to be executed in support of exercising the application under test. Also, test environment setup planning and implementation was addressed consistent with the test requirements and guidelines provided within the test plan.
With the test plan in hand and the test environment now operational, it's time to execute the tests defined for the test program.

Test Program Review and Assessment
Test program review and assessment activities need to be conducted throughout the testing lifecycle, to allow for continuous improvement activities. Throughout the testing lifecycle and following test execution activities, metrics need to be evaluated and final review and assessment activities need to be conducted to allow for process improvement.